Saturday, November 5, 2011


Boca Raton, FL…November 4, 2011…ADL hosted over 450 members of the Miami legal and corporate communities at its 21st annual Miami Jurisprudence Award Luncheon on November 3, 2011. Yesterday’s sold-out event was ADL’s most successful Miami Jurisprudence Award Luncheon in two decades.

ADL was proud to salute Marilyn J. Holifield and Parker D. Thomson, 2011 Miami Jurisprudence Award recipients, whose passion for excellence, high ethical and professional standards, dynamic leadership and social responsibility are all values embodied in this award.  ADL, created in 1913, to "seek justice and fair treatment for all citizens alike," established the Jurisprudence Award to recognize individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the legal profession and the community at large, while exemplifying the principles on which the ADL was founded.

Originally from Tallahassee, Florida, where she was one of three black students to desegregate the city’s Leon High School, Ms. Holifield became the first black woman partner of a major Florida law firm in 1986.  Today, she is considered to be one of America’s top employment lawyers and serves as an admirable role model for all.

Parker Thomson is a senior partner of the Miami office of Hogan Lovells US LLP. Exceptionally regarded in the Florida legal community, Mr. Thomson was recently selected as a “Senior Statesman” by the 2011 edition of Chambers U.S.A.   His commitment to public service has earned him numerous awards for significant pro bono contributions, for volunteer legal assistance to the poor, and other civic efforts.

The 2011 ADL Miami Jurisprudence Award Luncheon was co-chaired by Richard C. Milstein of Akerman Senterfitt and Steven Sonberg of Holland & Knight, and honorary co-chairs Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami-Dade College, and Donna E. Shalala, President, University of Miami.

**Photo - L-R:  Richard C. Milstein, Event Co-Chair; Parker D. Thomson and Marilyn J. Holifield, 2011 ADL Miami Jurisprudence Award honorees; and Steven Sonberg, Event Co-Chair.  Not pictured: Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami-Dade College, and Donna E. Shalala, President, University of Miami, Honorary Co-Chairs.


Post a Comment